Connecticut DUI laws are tough. If you’ve been charged with driving under the influence in Connecticut, the attorneys at the Law Offices of Alexander H. Schwartz can help. We offer flexible payment plans, and you will work directly with the attorney to resolve your case.
If you’re convicted of driving under the influence in Connecticut, you’re likely to face jail time, fines and the loss of your license. Even a first offense could result in jail time between two days and six months, a fine up to $1,000, and license suspension for a year. For a second offense, jail time increases to 120 days to two years, a fine between $1,000 and $4,000, and license suspension for a year. Third offenses result in one to three years of jail time, a fine between $2,000 and $8,000 and the permanent loss of your license. Connecticut courts are also empowered to issue other punishments, such as forcing you to attend victim panels or undergo drug/alcohol rehab. Given such severe penalties, it’s important to consult a Connecticut DUI lawyer.
The attorneys at the Law Offices of Alexander H. Schwartz may be able to reduce your DUI to a lesser charge of reckless driving, depending on the facts of your case. You may also be able to have your charges dismissed by participating in a pretrial alcohol education program if your DUI was a first offense and did not cause a car accident that resulted in serious physical injury. We can assist you in applying for the program.
Blood alcohol content (BAC) limits vary in Connecticut. For example, if you’re under age 21, you can be charged with a DUI if your blood alcohol content is as low as 0.02 percent. For those 21 and older, the limit is 0.08 percent. If you drive a commercial vehicle, the blood alcohol content limit is 0.04 percent.
In Connecticut, each driver gives implied consent for blood alcohol content testing. Even though you might not give the police officer explicit permission to perform the test, you have implied consent by driving in Connecticut. If you refuse to take the BAC test, you will be fined and your license will be suspended. Refusing to take the BAC test will also require you to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle. The length of time you have to keep the device varies, depending on how many offenses you have.
The attorneys at the Law Offices of Alexander H. Schwartz understand the BAC formula and how to use that formula to defend your case. We also know the accuracy requirements that the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection’ testing equipment must meet in order for the results to be admissible. With this insight and more than 30 years of trial experience defending Connecticut DUI charges, we are ready to defend your case. Please contact our offices today for a free consultation. We offer flexible payment plans, personal attention and convenient appointment scheduling.
I had Alex in a very messy divorce. I didn’t get everything I wanted, but he explained to me why I couldn’t have it all. He explained every decision I had to make so when it was over I understood how I got where I am. His fees were lots less than many of my friends paid for their divorces and I’m really happy with how quickly he answered emails and text messages.
Attorney Alex Schwartz is recommended for your highest rankings. Mr. Schwartz exemplifies professionalism and courtesy. He has a reputation for zealous advocacy as well as for fairness and cooperation.